1 Comment

919

“I’d expect more out of someone who was pre-med. You should wash your hands.”

She licked her fingers, smacking loudly as she pulled each one from her mouth. “I told you not to expect anything from me.”

“Don’t you have to live up to some Hippocratic oath of cleanliness?” She waved me away as she pushed the body off the operating table and hopped on, swinging her legs like an excited child. I watched Smalls’ hollowed-out carcass hit the floor with a thud. I smiled, satisfied. I conjuretold that bitch not to fuck with me.

“I don’t have to live up to shit,” she said, bringing my attention back to her. “Besides, I haven’t been pre-med in 300 years.” She wiped the remainder of the blood on her pants and licked her lips, catching the pieces of flesh that stuck to the corners of her mouth. “Don’t look at me like that.”

“You’re a vampire,” I said.

She laughed, deep and dark. “I’m not a vampire. I was just hungry.”

My stomach threatened to reverse the chicken salad I had for lunch.

“Killing her wasn’t enough? You had to rip her fucking heart out of her chest? And eat it? You’re so dramatic Marchelle!”

“But it’s what you love about me,” she reminded me. “ And it’s why you called me; I show up and show out. So, what are we going to do about the body?”

“You’re the expert, you figure it out. You may as well finish it off. Or are you full?”

I asked more for my own benefit. If she hadn’t gotten enough, she would feed from me, and I’d be paralyzed for days. That was always the risk when I summoned her. Knowing this, I rarely called, but Smalls had to be dealt with, and Marchelle was the only one to do it.

And I missed her. I would never admit it to her, but she knew. I hadn’t summoned her in over two years. Not since the last time – I liked it more than I should have.

“Come here.” She reached out and grabbed my belt loop, pulling me to her.

“No. You’re all bloody. And we’re not going there again. I don’t even know what that was that time, but -”

I was lost in her gaze. The soft spot between my legs pulsated with whispers of her name. She kissed me, and the blood that she missed on the underside of her lip found its way into my mouth. I closed my eyes and tasted her – and Smalls – and we traveled through the darkness of eternity, stars bursting around us as forgotten souls cried out. I didn’t want to go back. And she wouldn’t make me.

One comment on “919

  1. You bait, I’m hooked, then what… sheesh! How do we get the rest of the story?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,061 other followers

