Leave a comment

I think White people should read these too

I have to say, I was surprised to see some of the books on this list. Like Assata. She is my heroine, reading her book changed my life. Hell, it changed the direction of my major. I definitely think it’s essential reading for ALL people, because it sheds light on the very one-sided story of this revolutionary icon. I just picked up “The Warmth of Other Suns” so I was really happy to see it in the list as well. And to see my all-time favorite authors, Zora Neale Hurston, Toni Morrison, and the best thing since sunrise, Octavia Butler, it just made my day. I’ve read a lot of books, but according to this list I’m so very far behind as a Black woman. And while I love things that are just for us, I really think that other POC and white folks should read these books as well. These are American stories, some of them American classics. How will we reach a greater understanding of one another if we don’t read one another’s stories? Anyway, I plan to catch up as quickly as possible, starting today, with Wilkerson. I’m not too sure about that Jay-Z book though…I’d also add Randall Robinson’s “Quitting America”. I read it several years ago and it still resonates strongly with me.  How many of these have you read? What do you think is missing from the list? 

The Essential Reading List for Black Folk

Leave a Reply

